Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Financial Assets and Liabilities

Programme 3 – Financial Management which consists of the following sub-programmes

  • Sub-programme: Cash Management and Liabilities

  • Sub-programme: Public Private Partnerships (PPPs)

  • Sub-programme: Supply Chain Management

  • Sub-programme: Financial Reporting

  • Sub-programme: Norms and Standards

  • Sub-programme: Supporting and Interlinked Financial Systems

  • Sub-programme: Gaming and Betting ​

PURPOSE:

The purpose of this sub-programme is to enhance cash management in the Province. The unit also provide training and support in respect of payroll tax functions and legislations. It is also responsible for the provision of banking and support service to the entire KZN Administration.

CASH MANAGEMENT ANd LiabilitIES

The Banking division provides an effective support service to all client departments and ensures that municipalities conform to the reporting requirements in terms of the Municipal Finance Management Act. The priority of the Tax section is to provide efficient support and guidance to all client departments and to increase the knowledge and skills of officials at the departments. The EMP 10 guide issued by SARS is used as a base to perform Risk Analysis in terms of tax compliance and processes. In addition a practical Tax manual has been compiled which focuses on the Persal and BAS Tax functions and the technical aspects of the PAYE tax functions to assist tax officials at all departments.

The key functions of the unit are

  • To keep departments abreast of amendments in tax legislation in respect
    of payroll tax

  • To provide quality training and an advisory service in respect of tax
    functions to departments and perform risk analysis in terms of tax
    compliance​

  • To provide an effective Banking and support service to all client
    departments

  • To improve the efficiency of cash management and to minimize the
    adverse liquidity through effective liabilities management

 


















 


 


 


 

​​

Strategic objectives

  • Ensure the provision of an effective and efficient transversal advice, guidance and support on banking and tax matters

  • To promote sound cash management practices and improve liquidity in the province; and

  • To assist departments and municipalities in the attainment of a clean audit outcome for the province


Heads and Services​

 Name​ Directorate Contact number Email addresses

Frede​rick ​Pretorius

Director: ​Cash Management and Liabilities

0​33 897 4330​

frederick.pretorius@kzntreasury.gov.za

Staff members​​

​​​
 Name Directorate Contact number Email addresses

Tracey Weston

Deputy Director : Liabilities(TAX) Management​​
033 897 4393 tracey.weston@kzntreasury.gov.za

Janine Pretorius


Deputy Director : Cash Management  033 897 4566 janine.pretorius@kzntreasury.gov.za

Amanda Mbatha ​

Liabilities Manangement Specialist​
033 897 0443

amanda.mbatha@kzntreasury.gov.za

Pauline Mohomed

Cash Management Specialist
033 897 4336 pauline.mohomed@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nduduzo Dube ​

Cash Management Specialist
033 897 4207 ​nduduzo.dube@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​

 Public Private Partnerships


PURPOSE:

Public Private PartnerThe purpose of the PPP Unit is to facilitate, manage and oversee PPP’s at a Provincial Level, in accordance with the legislative mandates.

Mission
To promote an enabling environment for PPPs by: facilitating certainty in the regulatory framework; developing best practice guidelines; providing training, disseminating reliable information and driving black economic empowerment in PPPs

Vision
Facilitating and enhancing quality Public Service Delivery by being a catalyst for efficient, effective and value-for-money best practice solutions.

To ensure that all Public-Private Partnerships are implemented in conformity with the requirements of the Public Finance Management, the Municipal Finance
Management Act, the Municipal Systems Act and Treasury Norms and Standards. PPP has to effectively enforce compliance with Treasury Regulation 16 in terms of the PFMA  and Municipal  Service Delivery and PPP Guidelines in terms of the MFMA and MSA.

Strategic objectives

  • To provide substantial technical, financial and legal advice in support of all Provincial  
    PPP projects in line with the PPP cycle as regulated by National Treasury guidelines.

  • Assisting Departments, Public Entities and Municipalities to prepare and implement
    cost-effective and affordable  Pubic Private Partnership projects.

heads and services

 Name  Directorate  Contact number Email address
Tandiswa Kankqu

Chief Director:  PPP Unit

033 897 4548

tandiswa.kankqu@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

Staff members

Name ​Directorate Contact number Email address
Lonwabo Mzileni
Project Co-ordinator: PPP Unit

033 897 4404

lonwabo.mzileni@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kirsch Bezuidenhout

Public Private Partnership Specialist: PPP Unit

033 897 4254 ​​kirsch.bezuidenhout@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Vuyo Khuluse Project ​Co-ordinator: PPP Unit
033 897 4682 vuyo.khuluse@kzntreasury.gov.za
Siyanda Mkhize
Admin Officer​:PPP Unit 033 897 4293 siyanda.mkhize@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Zinhle Mpangase Admin Assistant​:PPP Unit 033 897 4504 zinhle.mpangase@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Nomsimiso Khuba Mpungose​ Project Coordinator​:​​PPP Unit 033 897 4293 Nomsimiso.khubampungose@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 Supply Chain Management


PURPOSE:

This programme is responsible for providing financial management support to the provincial departments. The sub-programmes under this programme are Financial Asset and Liability Management, Public Private Partnerships, Supply Chain Management, Financial Reporting, Norms and Standards and Supporting and Interlinked Financial Systems.

Vision

We strive towards being the centre of excellence in professionalism in the country on Supply Chain Management matters.

Mission

Our mission is to render outstanding Supply Chain Management professional guidance to provincial departments and municipalities and other state institutions in the province. This unit is further committed to contributing to the establishment of a sustainable financial management environment in the province.

Specified policies and priorities

The specified priorities for the Provincial Supply Chain Management Office is to monitor and evaluate compliance by provincial departments, municipalities and public entities to SCM prescripts and, where necessary, to offer support as required by the clients and which may include the development of required policies and practice notes, that allow for best practice implementation.

Strategic objectives

  • Support and monitor adherence of departments, public entities and municipalities to SCM prescripts.

  • To ensure the revision of policies and practice notes in accordance with National and Provincial legislation and prescripts.

  • Provide a supplier monitoring mechanism for the province to ensure that supplier information is reliable.


heads and services

Name  Directorate  Contact number
Email address
Lorraine Naidoo
Director:  Provincial SCM Unit​​

033 897 4477

lorraine.naidoo@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

Staff members

Name ​Directorate - Cluster Contact number Email address
Lindelani Sithole :Deputy Director
Deputy Director: ​Economic Cluster ​033 897 4424
lindelani.sithole@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nothile Zulu
 Deputy Director: ​Economic Cluster 033 897 4451 nothile.zulu@kzntreasury.gov.za
Bheki Maphumulo
Assistant Dire​ctor: ​Economic Cluster​ 033 897 4512
bheki.maphumulo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nokukhanya Ngubane
Assistant Dire​ctor: ​Economic Cluster 033 897 0479​
nokukhanya.ngubane@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sbulele Dlamini
Assistant Dire​ctor​Economic Cluster​ 033 897 4334
sbulele.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Phathokuhle Mtambo
Admin Officer: ​Economic Cluster 033 897 4238
phathokuhle.mtambo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Yusuf  Khan
Director:​ Governance and Administration Cluster 033 897 0451 yusuf.khan@kzntreasury.gov.za
Zwelihle Thabethe
Assistant Director​: ​Governance and Administration Cluster 033 897 0454 zwelihle.thabethe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Lindiwe Maphumulo
​Governance and Administration Cluster 033 897 4508 lindiwe.maphumulo@kzntreasury.gov.za

Bonisiwe Shezi

​Governance and Administration Cluster 033 897 0408 bonisiwe.shezi@kzntreasury.gov.za

Zandile Mkhwane

​Governance and Administration Cluster 033 897 4462 zandile.mkhwane@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thuli Mlawu
Director: ​Social Cluster​​ 033 897  4557 ​thuli.mlawu@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Zipho Shange
Deputy Director: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4568 zipho.shange@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Thandanani Makhathini
Deputy Director: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4505 thandanani.makhathini@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Bonga Nene
Assistant Director: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4411 bonga.nene@kzntreasury.gov.za
Richard Khwela 
​Assistant Director​: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4374 richard.khwela@kzntreasury.gov.za
Zinhle Sibisi
Assistant Director:​Social Cluster 033 897 4348 zinhle.sibisi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Penelope Dlamini​
Assistant Director​: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4292 penelope.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Ayanda Ngcobo
​Administrative Officer: ​Social Cluster 033 897 4237 ayanda.ngcobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Renita Madhan
Senior Manager​: ​Information Management  033 897 4295 renita.madhan@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Mandla Nkonyeni
Deputy Director: ​Information Management 033 897 4576 mandla.nkonyeni@kzntreasury.gov.za
Tania Raeburn 
Assistant Director​: ​Information Management  033 897 4503 tania.raeburn@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Sihle Thabethe
Administrative Officer​: ​Information Management  033 897 4624 sihle.thabethe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mncedisi Mhohlakoane
​Administrative Officer​: ​Information Management  033 897 4509 mncedisi.mohlakoane@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nomfundo Nxumalo
​Administrative Officer​: ​Information Management  033 897 4535 nomfundo.nxumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Lethokuhle Dladla
​​Administrative Officer: Information Management  033 897 4676 lethokuhle.dladla@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sphakamiso Hadebe
​SCM Clerk: ​Information Management 033 897 4509 sphakamiso.hadebe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Zama Shange
​Admin Clerk: ​Information Management  033 897 4516​ zama.myeza@kzntreasury.gov.za
Zandile Shongwe
Admin Clerk​: ​Information Management  033 897 4437 zandile.shongwe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nyaniso Sphengane  ​Senior Manager: ​Policy Development and Contract Management 033 897 4528 nyaniso.sphengane@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​​​
​Poppie Mkhize  Assistant Director​: ​Policy Development and Contract Management 033 897 4507 poppie.mkhize@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Gladys Zulu  ​Administrative Office: ​Office Support - Bid Appeals Tribunal 033 897 4489 gladys.zulu@kzntreasury.gov.za

Mandy Du.toit

Assistant Director​​: ​Office Support 033 897 0439 mandy.du.toit@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Nokuthula Madlala

Administrative Assistant​: Office Support 033 897 4529 sandiselwe.dladla@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Mandisa Ndwalane

Administrative Assistant​: ​Office Support 033 897 4443 mandisa.ndwalane@kzntreasury.gov.za

Zinhle Makehle

Administrative Assistant​: Office Support 033 897 0433 zinhle.makehle@knztreasury.gov.za​​​​

 Norms and standards

PURPOSE:

This programme is responsible for providing financial management support to the provincial departments and their respective public entities. The sub-programme under this programme is Norms and Standards.

VISION
Be the centre of excellence in implementation of monitoring and compliance procedures of financial norms and standards in the Province of KZN.

MISSION
As a strategic business unit within the Department of Provincial Treasury we will aspire to uphold the mission of the department and demonstrate leadership in the core areas of financial norms and standards aligned to the core principles of strategic leadership and corporate governance enshrined in our values statement.

Norms and standards

To facilitate performance orientated financial management in departments, municipalities and public entities as envisaged in the PFMA.

Strategic objectives

The strategic objective is to develop, facilitate implementation and monitor compliance with financial norms and standards in provincial departments​ and public entities to enhance financial management.​

KEY SERVICES (VERY BRIEF FOR PUBLIC CONSUMPTION)

Ensure the development, implementation and compliance of financial and associated governance norms and standards​.

heads and services​​

Name  Directorate  Contact number
Email address
Nabeal Price Director: ​Norms and Standards​​

033 897 4324

nabeal.price @kzntreasury.gov.za

 

staff members​​​

Name ​ ​Directorate ​Contact number Email address
Sipho Ntombela
Deputy-Manager​: Norms and Standards 033 897 4384 sipho.ntombela@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sashinee Govender
​Norms and Standards Specialist 033 897 4482 sashinee.govender@kzntreasury.gov.za
 Nkosingiphile Mkhize

​Norms and Standards Specialist 033 897 4439 nkosingiphile.mkhize@kzntreasury.gov.za
Karen Rushton

​Norms and Standards Specialist 033 897 4488 karen.rushton@kzntreasury.gov.za
 Ntokozo Mthiyane
Norms and Standards Specialist​
033 879 4574 ntokozo.mthiyane@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​​