Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Fiscal Resource Management


 

The programme is responsible for providing treasury functions in terms of Public finance Management act.

The  provide departmental financial management support services.​


 

Internal co​​



​​​​​​​​​

 Infrastructure Management and Economic Analysis

​​​Economic Analysis :

The aim of the sub-progarmme is to determine and evaluate economic parameters and socio-economic imperatives that inform provincial and local resource allocation and to provide platform to enhance regional economic growth and development through quality research.​


Infrastructure Management  :

The aim of this sub-programme is to continue to support , monitor and evaluate infrastructure planning and delivery performance in the province.


INFRaSTRUCTURE delivery MANAGEMENT system  :

The aim of the sub-programme is to coordinate and facilitate the implementation and institutionalisation of the IDMS in province and municipalities.


 

INFRaSTRUCTURE project financing :

The aim of the sub-programme is to facilitate and promote infrastructure funding mechanisms and opportunities to support the provincial and municipal fiscal framework.


strategic Objectives :

·        Provide comprehensive economic analysis of the province and municipalities

·        Provide quality research for regional policy and fiscal development

·        Provide input to Overview of Provincial Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure

·        Maintain the KZN statistical database and models

·        Publish Economic and Financial Reports, Articles, Discussion Documents and Working papers

·        Ensure the Effective and Efficient Dissemination of the Economic and Financial Research and Analysis

·        Develop and Promote Economic and Financial Policies and Strategies

·        Update and Maintain Various Economic and Financial Databases

·        Effectively and efficient manage and oversee Departmental Special Projects

·        Support efficient Infrastructure planning and management in KZN

·        To facilitate implementation and institutionalisation of the IDMS in all KZN provincial departments and municipalities

·        To assist and provide technical support to the development of the KZN Provincial Infrastructure Master Plan

·        To assist and provide infrastructure and project funding support to all KZN provincial departments and municipalities

​​​​HEADS AND SERVICES

 

Heads of the Directorates​

Key Services

Contact Number

Email Address

Clive Coetzee

General Manager : Infrastructure Management and Economic Services  

033 897 4538

clive.coetzee@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Fezile Mkhize​Senior Manager : Infrastructure Management ​033 897 4441​fezile.mkhize@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Rob Kempen ​​Technical Advisor : Infrastructure Delivery Management System​033 897 4463​rob.kempen@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Nokuthula Lembethe​Senior Manager : Economic Services​033 897 4444​nokuthula.lembethe@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Tim MadgickTechnical Advisor : Infrastructure and Project Financing​033 897 4349 tim.madgick@kzntreasury.gov.za


 

 

STAFF MEMBERS:

  Name

Directora​​te

Contact N​umber

Email addresses

 Ntokozo Mabaso 

Infrastructure Specialist

033 897 4471

ntokozo.mabaso@kzntreasury.gov.za

 Nkosi Zuma

Infrastructure Specialist

033 897 4426

nkosi.zuma@kzntreasury.gov.za

Namhla Sihlali

Economic Specialist

033 897 4537

namhla.sihlali@kzntreasury.gov.za

Jacob Twala

Economic Specialist

033 897 4605

jacob.twala@kzntreasury.gov.za

Mphumeleni Mhlongo

​Economic Specialist

033 897 4481

mphumuleni.mhlongo@kzntreasury.gov.za

Lungile Shange

Personal Assistance 

033 897 4249

lungile.shange@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nompucuko Basi

​Admin Support

033 897 4436

shampu.basi@kzntreasury.gov.za

Esthea Clayton

Secretary

​033 897 4524

esthea.clayton@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Zandile ShabalalaSecretary
zandile.shabalala@kzntreasury.gov.za

 Public Finance

Purp​​ose:

The functions of the Public Finance unit remain largely unchanged from year to year in terms of processes that need to be undertaken, such as the preparation of the annual MTEF budget for KwaZulu-Natal, preparation of the Adjustments Budget, as well as revenue and expenditure monitoring of provincial departments and public entities.

Vision
Be the centre of excellence in budget management in the country.

Mission
To ensure equitable resource allocations for the Province of KwaZulu-Natal, analyse and monitor budget implementation (provincial, including their public entities), revenue and expenditure, and instill prudent financial management and good governance.


 

provincial budget management:

The functions of the Provincial Budget Management unit are governed by the PFMA and the Treasury Regulations, and are process driven. These include the tabling of the Main and Adjusted Appropriations, within set regulated periods, preparation of an annual Unauthorised Expenditure Authorisation Bill for tabling in the Provincial Legislature, as well as monthly, quarterly and annual reporting.

Provincial revenue:

Provincial Own Revenue is responsible for optimising revenue generated by the province, to augment transfers from National Treasury. Its mandate includes conducting continuous assessments of revenue generation and collection capacity of all departments and public entities, as well as researching and proposing ways that own revenue could be enhanced. The unit is also responsible for monitoring the revenue budgets of departments and public entities. The unit established the Provincial Revenue Forum, where all the revenue sections of the different departments gather quarterly, to discuss, analyse and resolve issues as they arise.

Advisory support services:

Specialised Advisory Support Services provides economic and other fundamental analysis in the unit. Among other things, it engages in the research and articulation of Treasury’s policy stances on various fiscal matters related to public finance. This includes formulation of policy positions on the review of the equitable share formula, intergovernmental fiscal relations, formulations for incorporation into the
annual Division of Revenue Bills, institutionalising a framework for the monitoring of provincial public entities, among others.

 

strategic Objectives:

  • Promote effective and optimal financial resource allocation for provincial government (including public entities).
  • Ensure efficient budget and expenditure management and accurate financial reporting for the provincial government (including public entities).
  • Promote optimal and sustainable revenue generation and collection by provincial departments and public entities.


​​​HEADS AND SERVICES

 

Heads of the Dir​​ectorates

Title

Contact Number

Email Address

Mrs Tanya Stielau

Chief ​Director​: Public Finance

033-897 4308

Tanya.stielau@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Mrs Liesl Curtis

​Director: Specialised Advisory Support Services

​033-897 4305

Liesl.curtis@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Mr Eddie Musasiwa

​Director: Provincial Own Revenue

​033-897 4333

​Eddie.musasiwa@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Ms Nomthi  Mjuza

​Director: Provincial Budget Management

​033-897 4540

Nomthi.mjuza@kzntreasury.gov.za


 

 

STAFF MEMBERS: public finance

  Name of Analyst

Contact Number

Email Address

Allocated Department

Claire Thibaud

033 8974531

Claire.thibaud@kzntreasury.gov.za

Provincial Legislature

Andiswa Mncedane

033 8974491

Andiswa.mncedane@kzntreasury.gov.za

Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs

Public Works

Joanna Adu-Boahen

033 8974304

Joanna.adu-boahen@kzntreasury.gov.za

Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Transport

Jeremy Upfold

033 8974570

Health

Social Development         

Sbonelo Mazibuko

033 8974205

Sbonelo.mazibuko@kzntreasury.gov.za

Office of the Premier

Treasury

Nomusa Khwela

033 8974320

Nomusa.khwela@kzntreasury.gov.za

Agriculture and Rural Development

Human Settlements

Nomfundo Makhaye

033 8974228

 

Nomfundo.makhaye@kzntreasury.gov.za

Arts and Culture

Sport and Recreation               

​Smangele Mthembu

​033 8974270

​Smangele.mthembu@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Education

Community Safety and Liaison

​Nonkululeko Nkwanyana

​033 8974500

​Nonkululeko.nkwanyana@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Provincial Revenue Analyst for all departments

​Nokuthula Mlambo

​033 8974215

Nokuthula.mlambo@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Analyst for all Public Entities

​Navika Ramcoomar

​033 8974310

​Navika.Ramcoomar@kzntreasury.gov.za

​PA to the General
Manager

 Municipal Finance

​Purpose:

​​Municipalities are the custodians of public funds and are tasked with using their resources to respond to the needs of communities for infrastructure, local services, community development and spatial development. National and Provincial Government has a constitutional mandate to monitor the state of local government finances and financial management to ensure sustainable service delivery, while concurrently promoting good budget and fiscal management by municipalities.

In order to achieve this mandate, the Municipal Finance Unit monitors the preparation and performance of municipal budgets as well as the compliance by all delegated municipalities with the Municipal Finance Management Act, Act No.56 of 2003 (MFMA) and the Municipal Budget and Reporting Regulations (MBRR).

KEY FUNCTION :

​​​The Municipal Finance Unit further provides technical support to delegated municipalities, particularly those that are in financial distress, in order that these municipalities may achieve their strategic objectives and compliance with the MFMA and MBRR. Towards this end, the Municipal Finance Unit constructively engages all delegated municipalities to ensure that all budget related requirements in terms of the MFMA and MBRR are complied with. The functions of the Municipal Finance Unit are process driven and are largely determined by statutory deadlines as stipulated in the MFMA and the MBRR.​

​Main Objectives :

  • To ensure efficient budget and expenditure management and accurate financial reporting for the delegated municipalities in the province;

  • To assist and provide technical support to the delegated municipalities in financial distress in the province; and

  • In order to provide a more efficient grouping of functions, which ensures the effective management and co-ordination of municipal finance initiatives, unit municipal finance unit will be restructured, in line with the objectives of the new generic structure. The new structure is designed in a manner that would position the Unit at the forefront to lead and direct the implementation and management of the MFMA and its Supporting Reforms in all delegated Municipalities. 


  Name

​Contact N​umber

Email addresses

CHIEF DIRECTOR: 

 Farhad Cassimjee

033 897 4541

farhad.cassimjee@kzntreasury.gov.za

​DIRECTORS :   ​​​

 Arvin Soopal 

033 897 4565

arvin.soopal@kzntreasury.gov.za

Karusha Pillay (Specialist)033 897 4530karusha.pillay@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kashnee Sewnarain 033 897 4421kashnee.sewnarain@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kerryn Mare (Specialist)033 897 4534kerryn.mare@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mthokozisi Ndumo​033 897 4525mthokozisi.ndumo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Renisha Bhagwandeen 033 897 4450renisha.bhagwandeen@kzntreasury.gov.za
Wayne Donnelly033 897 4313wayne.donnelly@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nkosinathi Radebe

​033 897 4356nkosinathi.radebe@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Serantha Balgobind(Specialist)​033 897 4378serantha.balgobind@kzntreasury.gov.za

CO-ORDINATORS:​​​ ​ ​

​Khaya Nzuza​033 897 4468khayelihle.nzuza@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Lerusha Josiah​033 897 0459lerusha.josiah@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Nandipha Maliza​033 897 4445nandipa.maliza@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Richard Maseme​033 897 4446mthandeki.maseme@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Sandile Khumalo​033 897 4328sandile.khumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za
​ ANALYSTS:
Conrad Craft​033 897  4604conrad.kraft@kzntreasury.gov.za
Gcobisa Qulu 033 897 4401gcobisa.qulu@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Londiwe Zuma​033 897 4601londiwe.zuma@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Lusanda Soyamba033 897 4327lusanda.soyamba@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mbali Khubone​​033 897 4546​mbalenhle.khubone@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mnqobi Nyoka​033 897 4266mnqobi.nyoka@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Nkosi Sabela ​033 897 4513nkosi.sabela@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Nokulunga Nzimande​​033 897 4363nokulunga.nzimande@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Nokuthula Ndlovu​033 897 4376nokuthula.chamane@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nomfundo Shongwe​​033 897 4611 nomfundo.shongwe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sandile Khumalo033 897 4328sandile.khumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Sbu Zakwe​033 897 4412sbusiso.zakwe@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sifiso Vezi​033 897 4532sifiso.vezi@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Thandeka Hlengwa033 897 4355thandeka.hlengwa@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Thembelihle Msomi​033 897 4221thembelihle.msomi@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Thobelani Ntshingila​033 897 4232 thobelani.ntshingila@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​Xolani Mthimkhulu033 897 4587xolani.mthimkhulu@kzntreasury.gov.za
​ ​ ​FINACIAL REPORTING
​Lindokuhle Makhaye​033 897 4301lindokuhle.makhaye@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Nhlanhla Hlengwa​033 897 4253nhlanhla.hlengwa@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Sandile Madondo​033 897 4431sandile.madondo@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Sibonelo Mathenjwa​033 897 4241sibonelo.mathenjwa@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Sithabile Mthembu​033 897 4415sithabile.mthembu@kzntreasury.gov.za
​PAS/ SECRETARIES: ​ ​
Lisa Billinge033 897 4321

lisa.billinge@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nombuso Dlamini033 897 4542nombuso.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Pravisha Mangaroo033 897 4543pravisha.mangaroo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Urashna Ramjeawan033 897 4573 urashna.ramjeaw​an@kzntreasury.gov.za
​Zinhle Khanyile033 897 4678zinhle.khanyile@kzntreasury.gov.za

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER: 

Nokulunga Mjwara033 897 4366nokulunga.mjwara@kzntreasury.gov.za