Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Assurance Services

PURPOSE

 In order to provide the internal audit requirements of the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government, the Provincial Internal Audit Services (PIAS) was set up as a shared service under sections 38(1)(a)(i) and 76(4)(e) of the PFMA and paragraph 3.2.3 of the Treasury Regulations. The strategic objectives of PIAS are achieved through work conducted by the following sub-programmes of the PIAS, viz:

  1. Assurance Services

  2.  Risk and Advisory Services

  3.  Strategic Executive Support Services

MAIN OBJECTIVES

The mission of Assurance Services is to enhance and protect organisational value by providing risk-based and objective assurance, advice, and insight. The strategic objectives are:

  • ​An efficient, effective and economical assurance services

  •  Build and maintain solid client relationships through providing value added services

  • ​Enhance capacity within and outside the unit​

Heads and Services​

Name  ​Directorate  Contact number Email addresses
Madhavi Bhaw
Chief Directorate: Ass​​urance Services 033 897 4429 madhavi.bhaw@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kwena Lamola
Director: Performance Audit   Component
033 897 4258 kwena.lamola@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nhlanhla Khuzwayo 
Director: IT Audits
033 897 4642 Nhlanhla.khuzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Leevani Pillay Director: Financial Audits
033 897 4351 Leevani.pillay@kzntreasury.gov.za
Londiwe Japi
Director: Economic Cluster Audit
033 897 4250 Londiwe.japi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Londiwe Xaba
​Director: Governance & Economic Cluster 033 897 4672  Londiwe.xaba@kzntreasury.gov.za
Brenda Molefe​​​ ​Director: Social Cluster​ 033 897 4428 Brenda.molefe@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

Staff members​​

rishi@kzntreasury.gov.za
NAME​​​​ SURNAME EXT NO. EMAIL ADDRESS
​PERFORMANCE CLUSTER ​​​ ​​ ​​​
Nkululeko Dlamini  ​​ 033 897 0487 Nkululeko.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nomsindiso Nkomzwayo 033 897​ 4635 Nomsindiso.nkomzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nontokozo Ndaba 033 897​ 4603 Nontokozo.ndaba@kzntreasury.gov.za
I.T CLUSTER​ ​ ​​ ​
Ntobeko Nyawose 033 897​ 0403 Ntobeko.nyawose@kzntreasury.gov.za
Siboniso Madlopha 033 897​ 0403 Siboniso.madlopha@kzntreasury.gov.za 
Sinazo poyo 033 897​ 4252 Sinazo.poyo@kzntreausry.gov.za
Sabelo Jali 033 897​ 0403 Sabelo.jali@kznntreasury.gov.za
Zamile Zulu 033 897​ 4517 Zamile.zulu@kzntreasury.gov
Nonjabulo Dladla 033 897​ 4517 Nonjabulo.dladla@kzntreausry.gov.za
Langelihle Nzimande 033 897​ 4252 Langelihle.nzimande@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​​FINANCIAL CLUSTER​ ​ ​ ​​
Siphesihle Buthelezi 033 897​ 4655 Siphesihle.buthelezi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Banele Macatsha 033 897​ 4226 Banele.macatsha@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thembelenkosini Mlaba 033 897​ 4364 thembelenkosini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mohammed Shariff 033 897​ 4367 Mohammed.shariff@kzntreasury.gov.za
Luthando Hlengwa 033 897​ 4370 Luthando.hlengwa@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thokozani Mpangase 033 897​ 0489 Thokozani.mpangase@kzntreasury.gov.za
G&A CLUSTER
Xolani Nxumalo 033 897​ 4382 Xolani.nxumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nireshi Makhan 033 897​ 4373 Nireshi.makhan@kzntreasury.gov.za
Njabulo Ngcobo 033 897​ 4647 Njabulo.ngcobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Rishi Subban 033 897​ 4637 rishi@kzntreasury.gov.za​​
​​ECONOMIC CLUSTER ​​ ​ ​
Philani Buthelezi 033 897​ 4658 Philani.buthelezi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Lungisa Mpunga 033 897​ 4279 Lungisa.mpunga@kzntreasur.gov.za
Siyethemba Nyuswa 033 897​ 4259 Siyethemba.nyuswa@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kasha Keshav 033 897​ 4261 Kasha.keshav@kznteasury.gov.za
​​SOCIAL CLUSTER ​​ ​ ​
Nhlalwenhle Msomi 033 897​ 4287 Nhlalwenhle.msomi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Siyabonga Ngcobo 033 897​ 0494 Siyabonga.ngcobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nkanyiso Ngcobo 033 897​ 4517 Nkanyiso.ngobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Omar Chohan 033 897​ 0494 Omar.chohan@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thandiwe Kuzwayo 033 897​ 4691 Thandiwe.kuzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sthoko Nyandeni 033 897​ 4589 Sthoko.nyandeni@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mbusiseni Nkambule 033 897​ ​4302 Mbusiseni.nkambule@kzntreasury.gov.za ​​​​​​​

 Risk and Advisory Services

​​pur​pose

Internal audit component p​rovide a legislated function which covers an independent objective assurance and consulting services on issues of internal controls, risk management and governance as provided in the PFMA and standards for the professional practice of internal Auditing and in line with the principles in the King Report and its scope comprehensively defined in chapter 3 of Treasury Regulations. These services are further legislated through the Provincial Internal Audit Act No 2 of 2001.

​The PFMA and the MFMA requires provincial government departments, public entities and municipalities to establish a system of risk management and internal control, and to ensure that risk assessments are conducted regularly to identify emerging risks of these institutions. It should be noted that these institutions have not taken full responsibility and ownership for ensuring establishment and maintenance of an effective system of internal control and risk management. In this regard, these institutions are still expecting to be supported by the Pro​vincial Internal Audit Service (Risk and Advisory) in this regard.

Main ojectives

​To promote good governance through assisting p​rovincial departments, public entities and municipalities with risk assessments, risk management and internal audit capacity building exercises.

Heads and se​​rvices

 Name Directorate Contact number Email address

Vincent Ndadza

Risk & Advisory Services

033 897 4311

vincent.ndadza@kzntreasury.gov.za

Thokozani Madlala

Risk & Advisory Services – Strategic Planning

033 897 4521

thokozani.madlala@kzntreasury.gov.za

Jay Ramharak​​

Risk & Advisory Services – Financial Reporting

033 897 4248

jay.ramharak@kantreasury.gov.za 

Khulekani Malapane

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

033 897 4417

khulekani.malapane@kzntreasury.gov.za

Phehello Moloi

Risk & Advisory  Services - Municipal Support

033 897 ​4665​

phehello.maloi@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

 

Staff members​​

  Name Directorate Contact number Email address

Phakamile Mkhwanazi

Risk & Advisory Services – Financial Reporting

033 897 4361

phakamile.mkhwanazi@kzntreasury.gov.za

Kopo Dikoma

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

033 897 4690

kopo.dikoma@kzntreasury.gov.za

Mcebisi Litile

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

033 897 4252

mcebisi.litile@kzntreasury.gov.za

Phumlani Mpanza

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

033 897 4252

phumlani.mpanza@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nqobile Nzimande

 Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

033 897 4626

 nqobile.nzimande@kzntrasury.gov.za

Mondli Makhunga

Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

033 897 4273

mondli.makhunga@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Bruce Shabangu

Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

033 897 4252

bruce.shabangu@kzntreasury.gov.za