Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 SUSTAINABLE Resource Management


 

The programme is responsible for providing treasury functions in terms of Public finance Management act.

The  provide departmental financial management support services.​


 

Internal co​​



​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 Infrastructure Management and Economic Services

​​​Economic SERVICES :

The aim of the sub-progarmme is to determine and evaluate economic parameters and socio-economic imperatives that inform provincial and local resource allocation and to provide platform to enhance regional economic growth and development through quality research.​


Infrastructure Management  :

The aim of this sub-programme is to continue to support , monitor and evaluate infrastructure planning and delivery performance in the province.


INFRaSTRUCTURE delivery MANAGEMENT system  :

The aim of the sub-programme is to coordinate and facilitate the implementation and institutionalisation of the IDMS in province and municipalities.


 

INFRaSTRUCTURE project financing :

The aim of the sub-programme is to facilitate and promote infrastructure funding mechanisms and opportunities to support the provincial and municipal fiscal framework.

strategic Objectives :

  • ​Provide comprehensive economic analysis of the province and municipalities
  • Provide quality research for regional policy and fiscal development
  • Provide input to Overview of Provincial Estimates of Revenue and Expenditure
  • Maintain the KZN statistical database and models
  • Publish Economic and Financial Reports, Articles, Discussion Documents and Working papers
  • Ensure the Effective and Efficient Dissemination of the Economic and Financial Research and Analysis
  • Develop and Promote Economic and Financial Policies and Strategies
  • Update and Maintain Various Economic and Financial Databases
  • Effectively and efficient manage and oversee Departmental Special Projects
  • Support efficient Infrastructure planning and management in KZN
  • To facilitate implementation and institutionalisation of the IDMS in all KZN provincial departments and municipalities
  • To assist and provide technical support to the development of the KZN Provincial Infrastructure Master Plan
  • To assist and provide infrastructure and project funding support to all KZN provincial departments and municipalities

​​​​HEADS AND SERVICES

Name

Directorate

Contact Number

Email Address

 George Kanyika​

 Chief Director: Infrastructure Managem​ent and Economic Services

033 897 4538

george.kanyika@kzntreasury.gov.za


 

STAFF MEMBERS:

  Name

Directora​​te​​

Contact N​umber

Email addresses

Lungile Ntshangase

Personal Assistance 

033 897 4249

lungile.Ntshangase@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​

Esthea Clayton

Secretary

​033 897 4524

esthea.clayton@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​

​Thandeka Mwelase  Secretary 033 897 4586

thandeka.mwelase@kzntreasury.gov.za​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 Public Finance

Purp​​ose:

The functions of the Public Finance unit remain largely unchanged from year to year in terms of processes that need to be undertaken, such as the preparation of the annual MTEF budget for KwaZulu-Natal, preparation of the Adjustments Budget, as well as revenue and expenditure monitoring of provincial departments and public entities.

Vision
Be the centre of excellence in budget management in the country.

Mission
To ensure equitable resource allocations for the Province of KwaZulu-Natal, analyse and monitor budget implementation (provincial, including their public entities), revenue and expenditure, and instill prudent financial management and good governance.

Strategic Objectives

  • Promote effective and optimal financial resource allocation for provincial government (including public entities).
  • Ensure efficient budget and expenditure management and accurate financial reporting for the provincial government (including public entities).
  • Promote optimal and sustainable revenue generation and collection by provincial departments and public entities.​

provincial budget management:

The functions of the Provincial Budget Management unit are governed by the PFMA and the Treasury Regulations, and are process driven. These include the tabling of the Main and Adjusted Appropriations, within set regulated periods, preparation of an annual Unauthorised Expenditure Authorisation Bill for tabling in the Provincial Legislature, as well as monthly, quarterly and annual reporting.

Provincial revenue:

Provincial Own Revenue is responsible for optimising revenue generated by the province, to augment transfers from National Treasury. Its mandate includes conducting continuous assessments of revenue generation and collection capacity of all departments and public entities, as well as researching and proposing ways that own revenue could be enhanced. The unit is also responsible for monitoring the revenue budgets of departments and public entities. The unit established the Provincial Revenue Forum, where all the revenue sections of the different departments gather quarterly, to discuss, analyse and resolve issues as they arise.

Advisory support services:

Specialised Advisory Support Services provides economic and other fundamental analysis in the unit. Among other things, it engages in the research and articulation of Treasury’s policy stances on various fiscal matters related to public finance. This includes formulation of policy positions on the review of the equitable share formula, intergovernmental fiscal relations, formulations for incorporation into the
annual Division of Revenue Bills, institutionalising a framework for the monitoring of provincial public entities, among others.

​​​HEADS AND SERVICES

 
Name 

Directoate 

Contact Number

Email Address

Tanya Stielau

Chief ​Director​: Public Finance

033 897 4308

Tanya.stielau@kzntreasury.gov.za

Liesl Curtis

​Director: Specialised Advisory Support Services

​033 897 4305

Liesl.curtis@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nomthi  Mjuza

​Director: Provincial Budget Management

​033 897 4540

Nomthi.mjuza@kzntreasury.gov.za


 

STAFF MEMBERS: public finance​​​​

Name 

Allocated Department 

Contact Number

Email Address 

Navika Ramcoomar

 ​PA to the Chief Director

​033 897 4310 

Navika.Ramcoomar@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​​

Luyanda Nsele

 Secretary      ​

​033 897 4337

luyanda.nsele@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

 Municipal Finance Management

​Purpose:

To monitor and support municipalities in the area of local government finances and financial management.

KEY FUNCTION for each sub-programme :​

​​​

·         Providing strategic leadership support to the municipal finance management division.

·         To promote optimal and sustainable municipal budgets, and promote optimal implementation of budgets by municipalities and reporting on related compliance.

·         To assist, support and monitor municipalities with financial management and compliance with the annual reporting framework.

·         To assist and provide technical support to delegated municipalities to ensure sound financial management and sustainability.

·         To assist and provide technical support to delegated municipalities on revenue and debt management.​

HEADS AND SERVICES


1. PROGRAMME SUPPORT

 Name 

 

Directoate 

 

Contact Number

     

Email Address

Farhad Cassimjee

Chief Director: Municipal Finance Management

033 897 4541

farhad.cassimjee@kzntreasury.gov.za

STAFF MEMBERS​​


Name

Directorate

Contact Number

Email Address

​Lisa Billinge

Personal Assitance

033 897 4321

​Lisa.Billinge@kzntreasury.gov.za

Nombuso Dlamini

​​Secretary:Municipal Finance Management

​033 897 4542 nombuso.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za​​​​
​Pravisha Mangroo

Secretary:Municipal Finance Management

​033 897 4543

pravisha.mangroo@kzntreasury.gov.za



 
​​2. Municipal Budget​
​​​Name ​Contact N​umber Email addresses Desi​gnated Municipalities​
​​​​​ ​ ​ ​DIRECTORS: MUNICIPAL FINANCE​

​Arvin Soopal

​033 897 4565

arvin.soopal@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All municipalities under the uMkhanyakude and iLembe Districts  (excluding Ndwedwe Local Municipality) 

​Mthokozisi Ndumo

​033 897 4525

mthokozisi.ndumo@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All delegated municipalities under the Zululand and King Cetshwayo Districts (including Ndwedwe Local Municipality)

​Nkosinathi Radebe

​033 897 4356​

nkosinathi.radebe@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All delegated municipalities under the Ugu and uMgungundlovu D​​istricts​

​Renisha Bhagwandeen 

​033 897 4450

renisha.bhagwandeen@kzntreasury.gov.za

All municipalities under the uThukela and Harry Gwala Districts​

​Wayne Donnelly 

​033 897 4313

wayne.donnelly@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All municipalities under the uMzinyathi and Amajuba Districts​

​​​​ ​ ​ ​DEPUTY DIRECTORS: MUNICIPAL FINANCE COORDINATORS​

​Khaya Nzuza

​033 897 4468​

khayelihle.nzuza@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All municipalities under the uMzinyathi and Amajuba Districts

​Lerusha Josiah

​033 897 0459​

lerusha.josiah@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All delegated municipalities under the Ugu and uMgungundlovu Districts

​Nandipa Maliza

​033 897 4445

nandipa.maliza@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All municipalities under the uMkhanyakude and iLembe Districts (excluding Ndwedwe Local Municipality)

​Richard Maseme

​033 897 4446

mthandeki.maseme@kzntreasury.gov.za

All delegated municipalities under the Zululand and King Cetshwayo Districts (including Ndwedwe Local Municipality)

​Sandile Khumalo

​033 897 4328​

sandile.khumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za

​All municipalities under the uThukela and Harry Gwala District

​​​​​ ​ ​ ​DEPUTY DIRECTORS: MUNICIPAL FINANCE ANALYSTS

Gcobisa Qulu 

​033 897 4401​

gcobisa.qulu@kzntreasury.gov.za

iNkosi Langalibalele (KZN237) Greater Kokstad (KZN433), uBuhlebezwe (KZN434),Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma (KZN436)

​Lusanda Soyamba

​033 897 4327

lusanda.soyamba@kzntreasury.gov.za

uMsinga (KZN244), uMvoti (KZN245), eMadlangeni (KZN253)​​, Amajuba DM (DC25)

​Nkosi Sabela

​033 897 4513

nkosi.sabela@kzntreasury.gov.za

​iMpendle (KZN224), Mkhambathini (KZN226), uMgungundlovu DM (DC22)

​Nokulunga Nzimande

​033 897 4363

​​nokulunga.nzimande@kzntreasury.gov.za

​uPhongolo (KZN262), uLundi (KZN266), Zululand DM (DC26), Mthonjaneni (KZN285)​

​Nokuthula Ndlovu

​033 897 4376

nokuthula.chamane@kzntreasury.gov.za

uMkhanyakude DM (DC27), Mandeni (KZN291), iLembe DM (DC29)

​Nomfundo Shongwe

​033 897 4611

nomfundo.shongwe@kzntreasury.gov.za

uMfolozi (KZN281), Nkandla (KZN286), King Cetshwayo DM (DC28), Ndwedwe (KZN293)​

​Sandeep Gobind

​033 897 4354

sandeep.gobind@kzntreasury.gov.za

Jozini (KZN272),  Mtubatuba (KZN275), KwaDukuza (KZN292)

​Sandile Madondo

​033 897 4546​

sandile.madondo@kzntreasury.gov.za

Okhahlamba (KZN235), Alfred Duma (KZN238), uThukela DM (DC23), uMzimkhulu (KZN435), Harry Gwala DM (DC43)

​Sbu Zakwe

​033 897 4412​

sbusiso.zakwe@kzntreasury.gov.za

​uMuziwabantu (KZN214), Ray Nkonyeni (KZN216), Richmond (KZN227)

​Sifiso Vezi

​033 897 4532

sifiso.vezi@kzntreasury.gov.za

​eDumbe (KZN261), AbaQulusi (KZN263), Nongoma (KZN265), uMlalazi (KZN284)​

​​Thandeka Hlengwa

​033 897 4355

thandeka.hlengwa@kzntreasury.gov.za

​uMshwathi (KZN221), uMngeni (KZN222), Mpofana (KZN223)

​Thembelihle Msomi

​033 897 4221

​​thembelihle.msomi@kzntreasury.gov.za

eNdumeni (KZN241), uMzinyathi DM (DC24), Newcastle (KZN252)​

​Vuyolwethu Tuswa

​033 987 4604

vuyolwethu.tuswa@kzntreasury.gov.za​

uMhlabuyalingana (KZN271), Big Five Hlabisa (KZN276), Maphumulo (KZN294)

​Xolani Mthimkhulu

​033 897 4587

​​xolani.mthimkhulu@kzntreasury.gov.za

​uMdoni (KZN212), uMzumbe (KZN213), Ugu DM (DC21)​

​Siphelele Shezi

​033 897 0457

​​siphelele.shezi@kzntreasury.gov.za

uMlalazi (KZN284), Mthonjaneni (KZN285), Nkandla ( KZN286)


​​
​​3. Municipal Accounting & Reporting
Name Contact N​umber Email addresses
​​​ ​ PROJECT MANAGER:  MUNICIPAL ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

​Bridget Reed

​033 897 0404

bridget.reed@kzntreasury.gov.za​

​Musa Mazibuko

​033 897 4679

musawakhe.mazibuko@kzntreasury.gov.za​

​​​ ​ ​SUPPORT SPECIALISTS:  MUNICIPAL FINANCE

​Nelisiwe Ncama

​033 8974350

nelisiwe.ncama@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Njabulo Khumalo

​033 897 4350

njabulo.khumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Sakhile Ngcongo

​033 897 4350

sakhile.ngcongo@kztreasury.gov.za​

​Thobelani Zuma​​

033 897 4350​

​thobelani.zuma@kztreasury.gov.za​


​​4. Municipal Support Program
Name Contact N​umber Email addresses
​​​ ​ DIRECTORS: SPECIALIST - SPECIALISED SUPPORT SERVICES

​Karusha Pillay

​033 897 4530

karusha.pillay@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Kerryn Mare 

​033 897 4534

kerryn.mare@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Serantha Balgobind ​

​033 897 4578

serantha.balgobind@kzntreasury.gov.za

​​​​ ​ ​PROJECT MANAGER:  SPECIALISED SUPPORT SERVICES

​Amber Patton 

​033 897 4684

amber.patton@kzntreasury.gov.za

​​​​ ​ PROJECT MANAGER:  MUNICIPAL SUPPORT PROGRAM

​Surette Radyn ​​

​033 897 0467

surette.radyn@kzntreasury.gov.za

​Darryl Pandaram ​​

​033 897 0430

darryl.pandaram@kzntreasury.gov.za


​​​​