Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Assurance Services

PURPOSE

 In order to provide the internal audit requirements of the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government, the Provincial Internal Audit Services (PIAS) was set up as a shared service under sections 38(1)(a)(i) and 76(4)(e) of the PFMA and paragraph 3.2.3 of the Treasury Regulations. The strategic objectives of PIAS are achieved through work conducted by the following sub-programmes of the PIAS, viz:

  1. Assurance Services

  2.  Risk and Advisory Services

  3.  Strategic Executive Support Services

MAIN OBJECTIVES

The mission of Assurance Services is to enhance and protect organisational value by providing risk-based and objective assurance, advice, and insight. The strategic objectives are:

  • ​An efficient, effective and economical assurance services

  •  Build and maintain solid client relationships through providing value added services

  • ​Enhance capacity within and outside the unit​

Heads and Services​

Head of the Chief Directorate​​​​​ Contact number Email addresses
Ms M Bhaw –
Chief Director: Assurance Services
Chief Directorate: Ass​​urance Services +27 79 893 1411 madhavi.bhaw@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​​ ​​​
Mr K.W Lamola –
Director: Performance Audit   Component
Provide performance audit services to all Provincial Government Depart ments as well as Public Entities that are in need of our service.  The main objective of the audits is to provide assurance through assessment of the adequacy and effectiveness of management measures instituted with a view of determining whether value for money was achieved during implementation of government service delivery programmes.  +27 71 480 1474 kwena.lamola@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mr N Khuzwayo –
Director: IT Audits
To provide the auditing of the Information and Technology systems and processes; undertake the independent extraction and interrogation of data from IT systems; and support the general internal auditing efforts including financial, operational, compliance as far as information and technology are concerned. +27 72 563 5368 Nhlanhla.khuzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Ms. L Pillay – Director: Financial Audits Provide the Internal Financial Audit Service to all KZN Provincial Government Departments. +27 72 815 4493 Leevani.pillay@kzntreasury.gov.za
Ms L Japi –
Director: Economic Cluster Audit
Provide risk based compliance/regularity audits to all Government Departments as well as some of the Public Entities which are in need of our service.  The main objective of the audits is to assess the effectiveness of the internal control systems implemental by management to mitigate the risks. +27 73 165 1975 Londiwe.japi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Ms L Xaba –
Director: Governance & Economic Cluster
+27 71 884 6111 Londiwe.xaba@kzntreasury.gov.za
Ms B Molefe – Director: Social Cluster +27 73 165 1975 Brenda.molefe@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

Staff members​​

NAME​​​​ SURNAME EXT NO. EMAIL ADDRESS
​PERFORMANCE CLUSTER ​​​ ​​ ​​​
Nkululeko Dlamini 0487 Nkululeko.dlamini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nomsindiso Nkomzwayo 4635 Nomsindiso.nkomzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nontokozo Ndaba 4603 Nontokozo.ndaba@kzntreasury.gov.za
I.T CLUSTER​ ​ ​​ ​
Ntobeko Nyawose 0403 Ntobeko.nyawose@kzntreasury.gov.za
Siboniso Madlopha 0403 Siboniso.madlopha@kzntreasury.gov.za 
Sinazo poyo 4252 Sinazo.poyo@kzntreausry.gov.za
Sabelo Jali 0403 Sabelo.jali@kznntreasury.gov.za
Zamile Zulu 4517 Zamile.zulu@kzntreasury.gov
Nonjabulo Dladla 4517 Nonjabulo.dladla@kzntreausry.gov.za
Langelihle Nzimande 4252 Langelihle.nzimande@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​​FINANCIAL CLUSTER​ ​ ​ ​​
Siphesihle Buthelezi 4655 Siphesihle.buthelezi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Banele Macatsha 4226 Banele.macatsha@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thembelenkosini Mlaba 4364 thembelenkosini@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mohammed Shariff 4367 Mohammed.shariff@kzntreasury.gov.za
Luthando Hlengwa 4370 Luthando.hlengwa@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thokozani Mpangase 0489 Thokozani.mpangase@kzntreasury.gov.za
G&A CLUSTER
Xolani Nxumalo 4382 Xolani.nxumalo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nireshi Makhan 4373 Nireshi.makhan@kzntreasury.gov.za
Njabulo Ngcobo 4647 Njabulo.ngcobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Rishi Subban 4637 rishi@kzntreasury.gov.za
​​ECONOMIC CLUSTER ​​ ​ ​
Philani Buthelezi 4658 Philani.buthelezi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Lungisa Mpunga 4279 Lungisa.mpunga@kzntreasur.gov.za
Siyethemba Nyuswa 4259 Siyethemba.nyuswa@kzntreasury.gov.za
Kasha Keshav 4261 Kasha.keshav@kznteasury.gov.za
​​SOCIAL CLUSTER ​​ ​ ​
Nhlalwenhle Msomi 4287 Nhlalwenhle.msomi@kzntreasury.gov.za
Siyabonga Ngcobo 0494 Siyabonga.ngcobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Nkanyiso Ngcobo 4517 Nkanyiso.ngobo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Omar Chohan 0494 Omar.chohan@kzntreasury.gov.za
Thandiwe Kuzwayo 4691 Thandiwe.kuzwayo@kzntreasury.gov.za
Sthoko Nyandeni 4589 Sthoko.nyandeni@kzntreasury.gov.za
Mbusiseni Nkambule 4302 Mbusiseni.nkambule@kzntreasury.gov.za ​​​​​​​

 Risk and Advisory Services

​​pur​pose

Internal audit component p​rovide a legislated function which covers an independent objective assurance and consulting services on issues of internal controls, risk management and governance as provided in the PFMA and standards for the professional practice of internal Auditing and in line with the principles in the King Report and its scope comprehensively defined in chapter 3 of Treasury Regulations. These services are further legislated through the Provincial Internal Audit Act No 2 of 2001.

​The PFMA and the MFMA requires provincial government departments, public entities and municipalities to establish a system of risk management and internal control, and to ensure that risk assessments are conducted regularly to identify emerging risks of these institutions. It should be noted that these institutions have not taken full responsibility and ownership for ensuring establishment and maintenance of an effective system of internal control and risk management. In this regard, these institutions are still expecting to be supported by the Pro​vincial Internal Audit Service (Risk and Advisory) in this regard.

Main ojectives

​To promote good governance through assisting p​rovincial departments, public entities and municipalities with risk assessments, risk management and internal audit capacity building exercises.

Heads and se​​rvices

 Name Directorate Contact number Email address

1. Mr V Ndadza

Risk & Advisory Services

+27 72 594 9365

vincent.ndadza@kzntreasury.gov.za

2. Mr T.G. Madlala

Risk & Advisory Services – Strategic Planning

+27 79 874 3810

thokozani.madlala@kzntreasury.gov.za

3. Mr J. Ramharak​​

Risk & Advisory Services – Financial Reporting

+27 82 823 9520

jay.ramharak@kantreasury.gov.za 

4. Mr K. Malapane

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

+27 83 528 8015

khulekani.malapane@kzntreasury.gov.za

5. Mr P. Moloi

Risk & Advisory  Services - Municipal Support

+27 72 422 0881

phehello.maloi@kzntreasury.gov.za

 

 

Staff members​​

  Name Directorate Contact number Email address

1. Ms Phakamile Mkhwanazi

Risk & Advisory Services – Financial Reporting

+27 33 897 4361

phakamile.mkhwanazi@kzntreasury.gov.za

2. Ms Kopo Dikoma

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

+27 33 897 4690

kopo.dikoma@kzntreasury.gov.za

3. Mr Mcebisi Litile

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

+27 33 897 4252

mcebisi.litile@kzntreasury.gov.za

4. Mr Phumlani Mpanza

Risk & Advisory Services – IT

+27 33 897 4252

phumlani.mpanza@kzntreasury.gov.za

5. Ms Nqobile Nzimande

 Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

 +27 33 897 4626

 nqobile.nzimande@kzntrasury.gov.za

6. Mr Mondli Makhunga

Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

+27 33 897 4273

mondli.makhunga@kzntreasury.gov.za

7​. Mr Bruce Shabangu

Risk & Advisory: Municipal Support

+27 33 897 4252

bruce.shabangu@kzntreasury.gov.za